So Cal Broncos Community Forums

Welcome, Guest! Register a free account today to become a member and participate in the discussion.

Questions about lifting a Sas 6G

terrynsd

Small Member
OK, i need some knowledge dropped on me. Im pretty new to the off road game and the learning curve has been pretty steep. I have a '22 Wildtrak and i pretty sure that i will want to go with 37" tires eventually. So my understanding is that i will need a 3" lift to accomplish this, so my question is, what is the best but most reasonable way to accomplish this. Is it a bad idea to do the perch collars? does that negatively affect the ride or travel length? Does a 3" lift put the steering components in jeopardy?
Any suggestions or input is greatly appreciated.
BTW, i actually wheel this Bronco so it needs to be ready to go off road :)(y)
Thanks

I’m also interested in this answer. I picked up two spare tie rods and will probably implement the braces and steering collar upgrade if and when I go to 37s

Perch collars are OK, but I wouldn't want to try to get the entire 3" of lift from a perch collar alone. They give you lift at the expense of available down-travel. Instead, I'd look at one of the 2-piece spacer lifts that splits the lift amount between spring pre-load (perch collar or pre-load spacer) and top hat spacer. The ICON 3" spacer lift splits the lift amount between a pre-load spacer and a top-hat spacer. That preserves more down-travel while not giving it too much down-travel (as would a kit that was entirely in the top-hat spacer) that it could damage the CV's.